Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
river fishing how
anybody want to help out someone ( me ) who has never river fished if you throw out a bait setup do you fish it up stream or down ?any other tip you want to share would be appericated THANXS
[signature]
i am a complete novice at stream fishing but the bestway that i have found to to just let you bait flow with the current, i the current will take it to the pools that the fish live in, and there is no splash to scare the fish
[signature]
One word. Spinners. Cast upstream and reel back down to you. Hit the heads of pools....thats where the active fish are at.... if you are worried about the splash factor, just cast into the riffle at the head of the pool and then come down into the pool.....no scare effect there..... good luck. Talk to your local fishing shops too...they can really give you a good idea of what where and when.
[signature]
What type of fish are you after?
[signature]
If your fishing spinners or lures ,like (riverrat)said cast up stream and retrive down, but i've also caught fish casting down and retriving up.If your talking about bait fishing a river (salmon eggs,worms,etc.) I like to use little or no wieght(depending on strength of the currant)and cast above a hole and just let it drift naturaly with the currant.But when I catfish a river I like to cast into a pool (usaly standing upstream from the pool).I use a large sinker so it gets to the bottom where the fish are( making sure it's a sliding sinker so when the fish bites it does not feel the weight of the sinker).I hope this answers your question.[cool]
[signature]
Simple answer...Fly Fish
[signature]