Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to rig fishfinder
I just picked up an Eagle FishMark 320 fishfinder from Sportsman's that I'd like to use on Friday. I have no experience with them. Any suggestions for rigging it for the ice?

Thanks in advance.
[signature]
Go and get yourself one of those plastic "dry box" or lunch coolers. Mount the finder on the top and put a gel cell inside. Mount the transducer on a piece of aluminum or plastic pipe and rig it to the box on a bracket so it hangs in the water supported by the box.
That will work about as good as anything.
[signature]
Personally I like to keep my transducer free from the fish finder. I made a tee out of some small conduit, and mounted the transducer on the bottom. this will allow you to move your sonar unit, wherever you want to position it. make sure you put a fuse on the posative wire from your battery, to protect it from shorting and ruinning your unit. I made a small box out of 3/8" plywood to mount the sonar unit on and store the battery inside. Just a couple of ideas. Good luck and good fishing!
[signature]
I drill the center out of a 5gal bucket lid, put a 1/4-20 bolt through it then get a long nut to connect a piece of 1/4-20 allthread to, on the other end of the allthread you can mount the transducer. Depending on how long your allthread is you could go up to a foot deep (I just make sure the transducer is in the water, I've never had a problem with it not being deep enough in the hole.) If you rest the bucket lid down flat and tighten a nut around your first bolt it keeps the nut/allthread straight up and down, and if you mount your transducer right it is always level. This way you have less of a chance of someone kicking your cooler/lunchbox and messing up your transducer level. The only bad thing is you have to drill the finder it's own hole. Hope this helps!
Steve
[signature]