Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
To be a male bluegill.
The discussion about bluegills last week caused me to think about an interesting subject I studied back in the undergraduate days,in an upper division ecology/evolution class I took. The original scientific paper is here.

[url "http://www.pnas.org/cgi/content/abstract/77/11/6937"]LINK TO ARTICLE[/url]

One of the authors, Dr. Charnov was one of my instructors at the U. Anyway, the paper discusses that there are two "life histories of male bluegills. The main one is the "typical" pattern where the males grow for up to 7 yrs, grow to large (for a gill) size, and fight and defend nests, while encouraging females to lay their eggs in their nests for fertilization. Numerically, these are the most common, and what we are used to catching. The alternative is where it gets interesting. These are called "cuckolders". They are sexually mature at only 2 yrs. They do not grow to the size of typical males, and have external female characteristics. What they do reproductively is sneak in and out of nests made by "typical" males and when the male isn't watching, fertilizes the eggs in the nest. Cuckolders do not in time become "typical" males. It is an example of a type of parasitism involving a single species. If you catch a "female" looking gill that leaks milt on you it is a cuckolder.