Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Flashers verses Fishfinders
[font "Comic Sans MS"][size 3]First of all, I know NOTHING about flashers. There seems to be many fisherman who prefer flashers to conventional sonar for ice fishing. WHY? What are the advantages or features that make flashers so popular on the ice? Are they that much better on the ice than fishfinders? I really must be missing something because I would be hard pressed to give up my X-85 on the ice. I'm able to see, I'm assuming, everything that is entering my cone. What's up with flashers?[/size][/font]
[signature]
Two things they talk about on the In-Fisherman ice videos that they like about flashers is that they are real time the graphs are about 1 second slow from whats happening and the other thing is that cold temps don't affect the readout on the flashers. They say that temps below 25 deg may affect the LCD readout. I have no personal experience yet but take it for what its worth.
[signature]
Fishnate has it right buddy. What would be ping speed on your X-85 is slower than on a flasher. A flasher pings like an insane freak of nature. It will read the bottom, your jig, and fish just like on your X-85 but you have to learn to read it on a dial rather than a LCD screen. Like fishnate said, they arent effected by cold as much. You may have noticed your screen slow down, or blurr images when its cold out, with a flasher, its just lights, no liquid crystals to slow down. Basically, I dont think you need bolth, if you already have a LCD, use it. If you love to ice fish and want the speed and will take the time to learn to read it, buy a flasher. I believe flashers use much less battery power as well. If you ever go out with skeeter on his boat, he has one you can play around with. If you are wealthy, go for it. I am with you though, my finder works excellent, all except for hauling that stupid battery out on the ice.
[signature]