Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Strawberry from a tube.
Last year I picked up a tube and loved fishing at Strawberry. Now that I have a little experience under me in the tube I would like to start fly fishing from the tube. I have a Temple fork rod and floating 6 weight line. Any suggestions on flies and set up to fish Strawberry would be great. Also how to fish the flies as I am a novice with my rod having not fished much with it yet. When the best times to try would be helpfull too. Nothing worse then fishing for something that isn't around at that time of the season. Thanks.
[signature]
Strawberry will fish very well at ice off and will be good for a couple weeks until turn over, once the water has stabalized it will fish good all summer. Use a sinking fly line with only 4' of 3x or 2x Tippet tied to it.
Flys to try: White or chartreuse Bugger front with 18" to a trailer fly of: Chub pattern,black Bugger,Halloween bugger,mohair leach etc.
[signature]
HFT is the man. Right on all the flies, I also like the Midnight Fire (captain america). You will want to get an Intermediate, a Type II or III and a Type V, VI or I prefer depth charge for warm summer days. For a 6wt I would recommend 250 grain. Not too much top water action in the summer but, it still can happen. Been there, done that.
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]I second the suggestion for ice out fly flingin'. I will add a couple of things. First, think shallow. The big ol' bigguns often cruise in skinny water both just after ice out and often during the rest of the year right at daybreak. Position your tube offshore and cast inshore, working the fly back out.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]In such situations you can sometimes see the wakes pushed up by the cruising fish. Gets the heart pumping. Be sure to cast far enough in front of them that you don't spook them. Floating or sink tip lines are best, with longer leaders, when fishing shallow.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]