Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help buying a fishing pole
I am fairly new to fishing and was wondering what is a good pole to buy. I already have a reel, so i just need the pole. I am looking to buy a lighter pole, if anyone can help i would really appreciate it.
[signature]

I'm impressed with the new redington spin rods, price for quality is tough to beat.
But we probably need more info to pick the perfect rod for you,type of fishing you'll be useing it for,species your after etc.
[signature]
You just gotta love St.Croix rods. Fenwick makes some dandys too. I assume you want a cheaper rod, but who knows. You can go two ways, local shop, or catalog. I always like to go local on rods, ya gotta feel em before you buy em. But, if you have felt a rod, like it and find it in a catalog you prefer, that works too. Local shops can help you select a rod that will suit your needs, but be careful to make sure you like the rod, sometimes the guys at tackle stores just throw a rod at you and say I really like this one! Yeah, thanks buddy! Tell them what you want, and make them tell you why its the best rod for your money. Or, just go see james at hooked, hes not a dork.
[signature]
I have a shakespeare synergy series light action spinning rod and I love it. It is IM-6 graphite and has great feel. It has enough backbone to land a decent fish but light enough to enjoy small fish. The rod really has great feel and has been very good for me. It only cost 20 bucks which is a huge bargain for how nice of a rod it is. Just my two cents

Hoosier
[signature]
Well i am not too sure what i want to fish for i guess all of the fish utah has to offer. I do like bass alot. I guess with time i will get everything figured out and know what i want. I will probably buy a rod from sportsmens warehouse, so asking them too might not be a bad idea. Thanks
[signature]