Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What thrust for my little boat? Please help!
I am going to purchase a transom mount trolling motor for my little 16ft Deep V aluminum boat. What size thrust do I want? What models are best? What do I need vs. what would I want?

What is a good battery for this boat? I currently have an 18HP Johnson outboard with pull start and no other electronics. Someday I will have a fish finder on this little "sea worthy" vessel known as the "Clampette", but for now the only electronics will be the Minn Kota or similar.

How long can I realistically troll with the motor without running out of charge?

As you can tell, I am new to the boat ownership game and last year earned a crash course education in small boat engine repair. Now I am ready to move a little further. I have been belly boat bound for many years so this is a new venture for me. Seems that I can much more easily bring the kids along with a boat vs a float tube. That could get cold!

Thanks for the help!

Wolverine 209
[signature]
Well my 36 lbs thrust min kota pushes my boat just fine for trolling for trout. How long it will last depends on how good of a battery you buy. Not all batteries are the same. I use a trogan scs225 for the trolling motor. I use the same trolling motor on my boat and poontoon and the battery last me at full trottle for around 4 to 5 hours. If you have any more questions feel free to pm me.
[signature]
A standard 12 volt of 36 lbs or better will do for you. On a side note I would spend my $ on a depth sounder before an electric. Your fishing blind, the only thing an electric motor will do for you is allow you to fish blind quietly.
Get a depth sounder then use the 18 hp to find the fish then stop and fish. At least you'll know there are fish there. The wind will often help you troll. Drift with it or motor against it to get slower trolling speed.

Sports has Cuda 168 on sale for $100. Not a bad unit for the money.
[signature]