Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Beginner Flies
[font "Comic Sans MS"][#ff4040]Hey guys, I was just wondering what flies I should stock up in my box. I am a newbie to this fly flinging game and was just wondering which flies I should always have with me. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.[/#ff4040][/font]
[signature]
I would say basics would be:
San juan worm
Prince nymph
Haresears
Pheasant Tails
Griffith gnats
Adams
Copper Johns
Sow Bugs
Wooly Buggers
Muddlers
Blue Winged Olives BWO's
There are more like emergers, but this are anytimers
[signature]
[font "Comic Sans MS"][#ff4040]Hey thanks Flygoddess. If it's coming from a goddess it has to be the real deal![/#ff4040][/font]
[signature]
[center][cool][font "Poor Richard"][green][size 3]and one more is my favorite - the Royal Wulff.[/size][/green][/font][/center]
[signature]
I agree with what has been mentioned before. However, two things that always hit for me are...

Elk Hiar Caddis and Royal Trude (for dry flies anyways).

Remember, when stocking up on flies, it's not just the right fly but the right size. If you have a fly that imitates what is buzzing around you at the time, but the fish aren't hitting it, what I have always been told, try a size smaller. So pick up the basics, but have a few sizes handy.