Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First time marine radio user. Need advice?
I just purchased a marine radio and installed it in my boat. I've never used one before and need some advice.

What is the correct protocol when calling out to BFT members or other boats who might have a marine radio?

Do the State Parks monitor channel 16 (Coast gaurd) channel?

I know BFTrs use channel 12. Should I call out on that channel or
use channel 16 first? What channels are good ones to monitor here in Utah.

What will my transmission range be? I'm just in a 16 foot boat that isn't very tall with an 8 foot antenna.

Is there a service in Utah for phone access through the marine radio?

How and on what channel can I do a radio check? I can hear the weather channels (from my driveway in Brigham) but have no Idea If I have the antenna hooked up correctly so that I can transmit.

Thanks in advance for your responses.
[signature]
Congrats on the new marine radio.

Legally, you should apply for a FCC marine operators license before transmitting with this radio. If you bought the radio new, there is usually information and in some cases a FCC license application that comes with the owners manual. I have a license for my radio, but I've noted very few actually use their call letters or actually have an marine radio operators license? That said, I'm not sure there is much FCC inforcement of Marine radio band out here in Rocky mountain states.[Wink]

I monitor channel 16 as it is the calling and emergency channel. Marina's also monitor channel 16. I call out on 16 to find other boaters and then we switch to other simplex channels allowed for boat to boat communication. Do a web search on marine band channel and freqency chart and you'll find a channel/frequency allocation listing describing the intended use for each of the marine band channels.