Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fishing Willard
Help? I am new to fishing Willard and never fished a shallow lake with little or no structure. I have been three times in past three weeks and got skunked each time.
Can someone give me come pointers on how to fish Willard and what to use. I trolled nightcrawlers on a lindey rig, 4 inch rebels, sinking thinfins, and several other artificals. Fished along north off rocks, and in open water. I am really flustrated. Fished 10am t0 3PM, and 5PM till dark.
Any advice will be appreciated.
Thanks
[signature]
I have been fishing Willard Bay since 1976 and when I think I have the walleye figured out they prove me wrong. I know alot of good fisherman that have been pounding it pretty hard this past month and no one I know of has been doing worth a darn. By the reports MGB has been logging he seems to have been doing the best out there. The tactics you mentioned should work fine just keep experimenting. I do like windy days best, but the days I've been able to fish have been pretty calm. Don't get discouraged we do have some nice walleye in the lake and the few I have caught this spring have been chunky fish, I haven't seen them in this good of shape for the past several years. If You see a big Crestliner Black over almond with an American Flag on each side that would be me. Swing by and I'll be glad to point some of the better places to try6 on the lake. [Smile]
[signature]
From my experience this year, smaller is better. Small shad rapalas, and even trolling small plastics has worked for me this year. If the weather stays warm, Willard will really turn on this month. For me, it has always kind of been hit and miss until middle of May.
[signature]
[font "Arial Black"][red][size 3] I think that it is still a little too cold , but as the water gets warmer , around 65 and up the bite will turn on.[/size][/red][/font]
[font "Arial Black"][#ff0000][size 3][/size][/#ff0000][/font]