Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Willard carp report 5-16-06
I got out today for some bowfishing. I am just starting out this year. I had a ok day with 3 fish in the boat and a few long line releases. The carp were all around 30" long so they were good sized. I found that getting low in the boat and sneaking up on carp on the surface was very effective. The water in the shallows is VERY murky with only about 7" visibility. There were a few shots I got that were not on the surface but it is difficult to manuver a boat and hold the bow and get a shot without spooking them. I wish the water was a bit more clear but I have no control over that.

Anyway the pigs eat carp just fine.[Wink]

Heres to carp kabobs.
[signature]
Sounds fun to me! I need to get out. I might make a trip down to UL towards the end of the week for some stickage! Pigs will eat just about anything!
[signature]
Stick away boys! I went out this last week, but got denied myself. Watch out for the carp in Utah Lake. There was a report today that said that they had high levels of toxins in them. I would have to be in pretty bad shape to eat a carp, but I would assume that feeding them to livestock may have some potential problems. Kill 'em all, Jake
[signature]
I have never and hopefully never will eat a carp, but I am curious about these "toxins". Where did you read this report?
Nevermind...

Do carp really have fat? Is it the same as the oils in salmon meat? Are there other fish in UL that have fat? I'm not edumacated in this subject at all, anyone know about these PCB's?
[signature]
Here is a link to the [url "http://www.bigfishtackle.com/forum/Utah_Fishing_C55/General_Discusion_F58/Utah_Lake_Carp_Advisory_P262075/"]Utah lake carp advisory[/url] thread.