Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Henry's Lake
All this talk on Henry's lately and now I get to go with a couple of friends. We will be float tubing an I will be on my kickboat. All this talk of big fish has got me anxious and so now I can't sleep and I am on the Net.

Any thoughts on flies and where to start fishing there? It's my first time up there. I figured on having a rod for wet and one for some dry flies. I was reading that it's about 20 ft deep so should I have some sinking line or will a sink tip do the job?

I am praying for a great weekend and can't work up the guts to check the forecast.

Our Magic Valley Fly Fishers club is having an outing there as well this weekend, this is gonna be fun.
The vegetation will be kinda thick right now I would think, which is going to make fishing a bit challenging.
As far as flies, scuds, prince nymphs, mity mouse, renegades (snail patterns) and I think something in green.
Lines, YES you need sinking. I don't think that a dry is going to be that benificial, but, I could be wrong. Intermediate, and a type III or IV in a wet cell (something that sinks with a belly in it)
You could try deep nymphing with a LONG leader off the dry line, if that is what you have.
As far as where to fish, with the heat spell I would say outside edges all around the lake.
Pick up Bills copy of "Fishing Henry's Lake", it has a July section that tells you where, when, what and how.
And don't forget the camera...we want to seeeeeeee.
[signature]
Thanks for the info and I will have my camera so I hope to do some catching not just fishin.
[signature]
Well I got back from Henrys Lake Sun morning at 1 am. Left to go there Sat. morn at 1 am. Yep 24 hrs we were up and I have no stories to tell of any big or small fish. I want to thank flygoddes as she was the only one who offered any suggestions on where and what to use and exspect. I've never fished Henrys and was hoping for to have felt the tug like so many have who have fished there before.