Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sun 7/23 @ Jordanelle
Hi All,

This is my first post on this forum. I've been monitoring this site for sometime now. I am impressed by your camraderie and the free exchange of info. here. Please keep up the good work and post those reports...good or bad! I will contribute as best I can as well.

I went to Jordanelle on Sunday. It was much nicer than the craziness I saw over at Deer Creek. It looked like a whirlpool with all the wakes! Wonder why people don't drive a few more miles to get to a place that is less crowded....oh well, let the wakeboarders and jetskiers have Deer Creek! Shhhhhhh....

This was my first time at Jordanelle, as I'm pretty new to Utah still. This lake very much reminded me of lakes I fished quite a bit in California. I launched my Fishcat 9 pontoon at Rock Cliffs around 5:30pm. It was still scorching, but at least the bugs stayed away until sundown. I had the itch for warmwater fishes, so I was targeting smallies this day. To put it bluntly the fishing plain sucked! I fished from 5:30pm-sundown with only one smallie and one perch for my efforts. The perch was actually bigger than the smallie and it hit a 4.5 inch Robo of all things. I worked from shore down to about 15-20 feet with Shad Raps, weedless jigs, gitzits, and Robo Worms. I had several bites, but I think they were mostly small perchies and juvenile smallies. I was fishing the Rock Cliffs area from the boat ramp to the bouy line. Needless to say, I left disappointed, but not defeated yet!

Given the short amount of time I had and the lack of electronics (not for long) on my pontoon, I decided to stick with what I know and fish visible cover. Was I fishing too shallow? What depth have you guys been nailing bass here? Or was it just a case of the summer doldrums setting in on the fish?
[signature]