Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How do you rig a fish finder to a tube?
I'm getting an "Eagle Fish Easy" fish finder and I was wondering what the best way to attach it to your tube. I'm hoping many of you have figured out some great ways and would appreciate your info.

Thanks, Ryan
[cool] I'm sure there are a lot of ways. I have been hanging electronics on my donut dinghies for about 20 years, and I have tried a whole bunch of different ways.

I have been using the same model as you just got for most of the last ten years or so. It is inexpensive, doesn't draw much juice from the battery and it provides the basic info I need to locate structure and determine the depth at which fish are suspending...or hanging on the bottom.

More expensive and higher wattage units also give temperature readings and water speed. Some will even show your lure, in real time, when you are jigging within the "cone" of vision. The little EAgle doesn't do any of these. Speed indicator is not important...obviously. You can monitor temps by hanging a cheap swimming pool thermometer over the side. And third, the real time lure display is nice...but costs about $250 more on most units. It also sucks small batteries dry fast.

If you will shoot me an email, or PM on this forum, I can send some writeups and diagrams to show you how I do it. In a nutshell, I mount the "skimmer" transducer on a piece of half inch PVC pipe, and then snap it into broom handle clamps on my wooden rod rack. I'll edit a pic in below. The transducer is the trickiest part. Everything else is simply a "lash down"

The display unit comes with a mounting bracket. It has 4 holes, for screwing into a suitable spot on the boat. Not recommended that you screw it into your tube. I just run 1/4 inch nylon cord through the mounting holes and tie it securely to a good visibility spot on the craft. By the way, what kind of craft do you have? Round, pontoon, U-boat or what?