Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Small Mouth Question
I have a lake relitively close to me that has a fairly good population of smallies in it. I'm new to this type of fishing ( was raised with a fly rod) so when can I start fishing for them?

Also when fishing for them in the spring what kind of lures do I need to be throwing etc. In the summer/fall I was using 4"plastic worms dragging them slowly along the bottom will this work in spring also?

Any help from yawl would be gr8ly appreciated
[signature]
if theres crawdads in there, i would get some plastic crawdads - small shallow running plugs too as it warms up and they start coming in . .

sm
[signature]
Don't put your fly rod up yet, some of my best smallie fishing on Flaming Gorge was trolling a green wooley bugger from my float tube with sinking line. It wasn't uncommon to have 30-40 fish in 3-4 hours in the evening.

The crawdads at the gorge have a greenish tint to them so that is why green worked the best there. If there are crawdads in there the smallies will likely be keying on them. If the crawdads are a different color in your lake then I would match the color of the naturals with a bugger or crawdad imitation.

Smallies will be dormant in water colder than 40 degrees unless there is a shortage of food and then they will feed aggressively year round. I have never had good luck in colder weather. When the water gets around 50 degrees they will start fattening up for the spawn and staging near gravelly areas. When the water gets to be 60 or so degrees they will start spawning and will be found in the shallows where good spawning gravel and pebbles are.