Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Onboard charger
I'm going to be looking for an onboard charger soon. I have two trolling motor batteries, 12/24 volt, and one starting battery, 12v. There is a voltmeter gauge on the dash for the starting battery. I don't know if the outboard charges it or not (200 Merc). I don't have an owners manual and I'm still learning [blush]. Common sense tells me that a 2 bank is for two batteries, 3 bank for 3, etc. From you more seasoned boat owners, should I be looking for something specific? Brand name, gauges, buttons and other "stuff" that make some chargers better than others. Fairly easy to do it yourself I would think, right?
[signature]
I have had 2 different brands, Minnkota and currently a Dual pro. I like the dual pro a little better. I have a similar setup 12/24volt system 2 deep cycles and a cranker you only need a two bank charger because your outboard does charge the cranking battery. I recommend you get a charger that has maximum amp output which is 15 amps per bank faster charging!
[signature]
I also have a two bank Dual Pro charger on my boat. It has light bar indicators that give you an indication of charging progress. Do a little shopping around on google and ebay to get the best deal. Dual Pro, Minnkota and Guest are some popular brands to look for. Good luck[Smile]
[signature]
Yes your outboard does charge your starter bat. But if you are going to buy an onboard charger I would by the 3 bank charger. As far as what brand, I like the Pro Mariner Pro Sport that both Cabelas and Bass Pro carries. I have this on my boat and it has been extremely reliable. One other thing to consider is the rate you would need your batteris to charge. The pro mariner is a 5amp per bank and takes awhile to charge (does very well on an overnight charge). But if you need faster I thin MinnKota makes a 10amp per bank charger that can charge as fast as 6 hours I thing.
[signature]