Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
gummed up honda 4 stroke carb
I have an older Honda 4 stroke 8 horse. It has been a while since last ran. Tried to fire it up with new gas today and something must be gummed up in the carb. It will fire up and then just die. I am no expert on carbs and wondered if someone who knows what they are doing would want to trade a carb cleaning and tune up for a Camp Chef stove or smoker.
[signature]
I can't remember who it was for sure but I think Kentofnsl knows someone that does carb work.
If it was me, I would get some SeaFoam and try spraying it into the carb. Does your motor have electric start? WH2
[signature]
Nope it doesn't have electric. I hae a blister on my hand from pulling it so many times trying to figure out what the deal was. I am sure it is simple for someone who knows what they are doing.
[signature]
I've been there, I hate trying to start a motor like that[unsure]. That is why my next kicker will have electric start. When was the last time you had it running and did it run good then?
[signature]
It ran awsome when last started. It has only had 2 tanks of gas through it ever. It was 2 years ago when it last ran. I sprayed it down good and filled the bowl with a little sea foam before I put the bowl back on. Hopefully letting it sit just a little before I try it again will help.
[signature]
Good idea, you could also try taking your spark plug out, cleaning it and spraying a little in there. I always run Seaform in my two stroke but it wouldn't hurt to run it in a four stroke, at least at the end of the season.Good luck I hope it works.
[signature]
plugs and cylinder look great. Like I said it will start it just won't stay running. I think I probably have a jet in the carb plugged or something along those lines. I just know I have no more time to deal with it now. Thanks for the help and advice.
[signature]