Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advice needed on dry ice
I have never used dry ice before and I was thinking of getting some to keep our minnows frozen for a three-day fishing trip. How much do I need to keep a couple dozen large (6 to 10 inches long) minnows frozen? How long will dry ice last in a small cooler? Do I need to leave the lid sligtly open to allow for venting? I know that one can get burnt if they touch it, but if anyone has any other information/advice they want to share it would be appreciated.
[signature]
A pair of rubberized gloves will do the trick to help avoid the freeze burn. You can find them at the local hardware stores in the cement tools area. I'm not sure how long it will last though. I don't think it could build enough pressure in a small cooler to launch the lid.
[signature]
I use dry ice all the time on those long camp trips. The trick is to lay down a layer of ice then layer your dry ice and then a layer of ice. Place your goodies on top of the crushed ice and cover with the crushed ice. You should have ice for at least four days
[signature]