Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Orange Swatch on Float Tube?
[crazy] I have heard through the "grapevine" that some lakes may require a float tube/tuber to have a visible 12in.by12in. swatch of orange on his/her tube or person. Has anyone else heard this or am I off base!

It probably would not be a bad idea to have a 12 by 12 square orange flag on some sort of 3-4 foot dowel to be more visible to boaters. Does anyone do this or am I being ridiculous.

As usual please chime in with your comments.........

JD
[signature]
local lake here.. Lake Wohlford specifically requires square patch above the water line...

[url "http://www.lakewohlford.com/"]Lake Wohlford[/url]

MacFly
[signature]
Macfly55,

Thanks for the heads up. I am just beginning this tubing thing, but I have shore fished Lake Wohlford, Dixon, and Cuyamaca numerous times over the last several years.

I especially like the alpine feel of Cuyamaca. Are these good choices for tubing in the fall and spring?????

JD
[signature]
JDF,

You are more than welcome.. like I said I know for sure Wohlford requires it but not sure about the other ones.

I dont float tube yet so I am like you and stuck on the shore for now.. I just read this area of the site for information more than anything else...

Here is another site you may want to go to if you are fishing
[url "http://www.sdfish.com/lakes/index.html"]SD lakes[/url]. This site gives a general run down on SD area lakes.

Hope this helps some...

MacFly
[signature]
Most bodies of water do require it as per Coast Guard regulations.

Coast Guard in the lakes?????? Yes! The Coast Guard writes all the fresh and salt water safety rules no matter what body of water you are in.

My tube doesn't have the orange patch. I fixed that by using one of those orange safety vests that you can get at Home Depot. I dawned the vest over the back seat. There is better than 12 x 12 visible.

My other tube is bright yellow but has a 6 x 24 orange stripe on the back.[cool]