Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
dry flies or nymphs
I am new to flyfishing.Itook a class from Dave Mcormick last winter and have been to the middle provo a few times and have never even had a hit. I have most of the popular dry flies and nymphs. My question is, is it easier to catch fish on dries or nymphs? I cant afford a guide so I would be so thankful for any help at all.

Tight lines
Thank you
okieute
[signature]
The thing about dries and nymphs is that you have to let the fish tell you what to throw at them. Sometimes the fish can be really dumb and easy to catch, and other times they can prove to "smarten-up" a little bit. If I were going to go fish the middle tomorrow, I would focus on throwing caddis dries (with a good presentation) in the early AM. Caddis hatch at night mostly, but they like to come back for a drink in the morning. You may not see fish rise at all, but they are still looking up for the occasional straggler. Then you can search the river for PMDs. They are a hoot to fish if the hatch is good. The middle of the day can be spent throwing hoppers along the banks (COVERING LOTS OF WATER). You will also see opportunity to throw Yellow Sallies at times. Then the magic happens LATE like around 8:00 or later. The caddis hatch starts. Don't be discouraged that you can't see your fly. Just listen for the splash.

On a summer day, you should be able to fill it with dry fly fishing, but I guess you can nymph too if you have to.

Some hot flies that I have used, or gotten report of are:

x-caddis 14-18
Palomino caddis #14
pulsating caddis16-18
twisted foam hopper #10
parachute PMD 16-18

Good luck. Search the risers and cast to them.
[signature]
[black][size 3]Great response Cheech,[/size][/black]
[size 3][/size]
[size 3]While I was gathering my thoughts to respond, you beat me to it. Thank God, because my answer was starting out with all the bit about reading the holding water and matching the hatch, etc.[/size]
[size 3][/size]