Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tube questions
Longtime listener, first time caller to the forum, I guess you could say. I am thinking of buying a Fish Cat 4 Deluxe, but there are a few questions I hope someone here can answer first.

I've been fishing from round tubes since the late 1970s, using them primarily for smaller lakes and strip pits. Never tried a U-tube before, though, and have almost never used swim fins. I've always just kind of walked forward in the water, fishing as I go, because I haven't had to travel great distances in the pits and lakes I fished.

That means I'm used to leaning forward to fish, which you can easily do in a round tube. But what happens in a U-tube? Are they easy to fall out of if you inadvertently lean forward? With swim fins, are you unable to move forward as you fish along a shoreline? Do you HAVE to propel yourself backwards?

Dumb questions, I know, but I'm curious about how much I'll have to change my fishing style.

Thanks in advance!
[signature]
..Ill answer from what I know as a newbie..

.. first..everyone here will tell you the same thing.. there are no dumb questions..

.. now.. on my first trip in a tube I was "concerned" about how much I could move before I fell out.. well once I got settled in all was good.. in the u tube its like it wraps around you and wants to hold you in tight.. once you get settled back into the seat its comfortable.... the only other times I was concerned was when I caught myself leaning a little to much to do something.. like try to adjust my fin.. not a good idea.. [Smile]

..I think you will find yourself leaning forward a bit until you relax into the seat.. once there you will find your comfort zone so to speak..

.. as for the fins.. as far as I know or have experienced you can only make turns and move backwards with fins.. you will just have to learn how to maneuver yourself a little differently to get yourself in the right postions....