Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pond Fishing for Bass
I have been fishing twice this week at two different local ponds in Southern VA. The first day I used a Mepps #3 lure and caught a very good sized large mouth and a few crappie. I went to a different pond today and used the same Mepps for a while and had hardly any luck. I switched to a simple artificial worm and got two bites right away and reeled in two medium size bass before the storm hit Sad. What I am wondering is if the pond or the weather can depend on what lure to use. I noticed on the Mepps package it said that the particular one I had was good at evening time. If anyone has any suggestions or changes that I can make I would greatly appreciate it. I am very new to fishing and I want to make sure I am doing things right. Any other advice on lures for catching bass would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
[signature]
I did some fishing in VA. a couple years ago, I had the best luck on watermelon senkos on a weighted hook. Without seeing where you are fishing it's kind of tough to help but the basics are sunny days-light colors, cloudy days-dark colors. After a storm when it's real calm a topwater like a Zara Spook works pretty good. There are all sorts of variables that will change the bite. That's my favorite time to fish is when fishing is tough, it allows me to play with all my toys untill I find something they want [Smile].
Water clarity plays a role as well as structure, depth, forage, etc. I don't know if I helped or made things more confusing [crazy]. Tell us some details on the water you are fishing and I'm sure we can put you on some fish.
[signature]