Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
FLYS ON MANTUA ANY GOOD?
I AM NEW TO FLYFISHING AND WAS WONDERING IF MANTUA IS ANY GOOD THIS TIME OF YEAR AND WHAT FLIES ARE GOOD TO USE SO MAYBE EVEN AN AMATEUR LIKE ME CAN CATCH A FEW FISH?

I HAVE ONLY FLY FISHED THE UINTAHS AND THE WEBER RIVER VERY LITTLE. I DID EXCELLENT IN THE UNINTAHS LAST YEAR, I COULDN'T KEEP THE TROUT OF MY FLY, BUT I GOT ONLY ONE BITE IN ONE DAY OF FISHING THE WEBER RIVER. IF ANYBODY HAS ANY TIPS SO THAT MAYBE I COULD CATCH MORE FISH AND NOT LOOK LIKE SUCH A FOOL OUT ON THE WATER[blush] SEND THEM MY WAY I AM SURE I WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATIVE.
[signature]
Hello. I was fishing on saturday on mantua adn I caught one largemouth about ten inches long on a streamer called a thin mint. I bouhgt it at al's sprting goods in logan but it has a tail with black, olive, adn brown marabou with about three or four strands of krystal flash in it the same length as the tail. It has a peacock herl body with a strand of krystal flash and a brown hackle wrapped around it and a tungsten bead for the head. I was on the north end of the island up in the cove just fishing it next to the cover. I saw one other guy in a pontoon boat land a trout but I dunno what he was using. It was a tough day with that bass beign the only one in 2 1/2 hours of fishin with four people, but the say that mantua is a the kind of lake where when it is on fire the fishing is great but when it is dead it is tough. I hope this helps you and good luck with the fishing.
[signature]
Hey, thanks for the useful information.

It sounds like Could try to tie that fly by myself. Experimenting with new flies is always

fun. I just have one question is there a special way to fish a streamer or is it

just like any other fly?
[signature]