Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Willard Bay Shore Access
I've been wanting to go give Willard a try from shore or from my float tube. I've only been there twice, and I wasn't the one driving, so I was wondering are there any places to fish from shore without entering the state park area? I'm a poor college student and there is no way that I could afford shelling out $10 to go fishing there for just a few hours, it's already $26 dollars for a license, not to mention the soon to be $5.00 a gallon for gas this summer! I don't need to use the cleaning stations, restrooms, boat launch, etc. just need to find a place where I can catch a few catfish, walleyes, or maybe even a wiper. If the only access is through the fee stations than I'll just have to keep dreaming about fishing there and wait until I win "Who Wants to be a Millionaire" or "Deal or no Deal". Or just be happy fishing Kaysville pond for slimers.[fishon]
The south Marina is locked, I belive you can walk-in without paying, while it is closed, someone correct me if I am wrong. The Channel over ther is closed to fishing until end of April, but you can get out into the lake from there.
[signature]
You can access the bay in several different areas. The very south end has an access that goes around the whole south side, and part of the west side. You can use that as much as you like. The road is a little rough, but still passable by most cars. You get there by taking the road to in front of Smith and Edwards, and just keep going straight until it turns to dirt and curves sharply to the right. This road will get your right next to the dike.
[signature]