Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pontoon "hybrid" vs. Fish Cat 4...
Hi, I've been fishing for about 15 years now but have yet to flyfish. I would like to start this coming summer and am in the process of buying a float tube, rod, etc. I basically have it narrowed down to the "Outcast Fish Cat 4" float tube, "Creek Company ODC 420" float tube, and the "Creek Company ODC 616" float tube/pontoon hybrid (a friend of mine has one he's willing to sell me).

Personally, I think I'd prefer to be sitting out of the water so the ODC 420 (on the Creek Company website it says "Thick foam seat keeps you comfortable and out of the water while increasing floatation"), or ODC 616 seem like the best choices... With the ODC, however, I'm wondering if I wouldn't be sitting too high up (thus making propulsion difficult)... Does anyone have any experience with this tube/pontoon that they are willing to share??

Can anyone (preferably around my weight) that has used a Fish Cat 4, or ODC 420, let me know how deep in the water you end up sitting?? I'm guessing you can't get away with just hip waders...

Thanks,
Rob
[signature]
Welcome Zabber you are at the right place for questions. You didn't give your weight I don't think, but I am around 300, big huh? and I use a pontoon and there isn't any problem with getting around with fins even though the wind will work you pretty hard sometimes. You are deffinetly out of the water which I like.

I have a fish cat but havent used it yet, I got it for where the toon would be to hard to use, but I used to use a float tube all the time and loved it, so i am sure the fish cat will be excellent as they move around much better than my U-boat float tube did.
Hope this helps some, but welcome
[signature]