Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
School me on smoking fish!!
Ironworker set me up with my first electric smoker just recently. I am a total newb and need some basic tips. If you have one ore two lines of advice please let me know!

What wood chunks do you use? Where do you get them?
Brine or dry rub?
Smoking times?
Temperature control?

See what I mean? I dont really know what I am doing. I caught a limit of brook trout yesterday though and I am excited to get started on this!! Thanks for any help!
[signature]
The best place I have found for info on smoking all kinds of meat is smokingmeatforum.com I have learned a more from them than you could imagine most of the people on there are very helpful. just ask and you will get lots of info.

markeli
[signature]
im sure youll get some great tips on this subject!! so i might be off on this advice., but i havent had luck with the candy flavored wood cherry, apple ect, just stick with mesquite and i dont think you can go wrong,, so what time is dinner???
[signature]
Alder is the best wood to use with fish. You'll want to leave the skins on the fillets or just smoke the fish whole(minus the guts and head). Fish should be smoked at 175 degrees for 2-3 hours. I've never brined or rubbed fish for smoking. Although you definitely could do some experimentation.
[signature]
Mark- Thanks for the help on the site! Looks good so far!!
Bigfish- I'll bring some next time we go out cattin! Who knows, maybe its the next big bait!!! haha
Jimmi- That is great advice! Where do you get your Alder??

Tubedude, wheres the blue writting? haha Come on, chime in everyone.
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]Sorry I didn't chime in earlier. Been busy...smoking fish. Just got a nice batch of kitties out of the smoker. Yum city.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]