Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Noobie In Blackfoot Idaho
I am basically new to fishing this year and have really enjoyed using a fly rod when I get a chance. I don’t really have any co-workers that fly fish so I really need some help on how to continue learning. I bought a new cheap Wal-Mart combo fly fishing combo early this year and first tried it in March at Henry's lake near the state boat dock. The fish were spawning really close to the shore and I was able to pull a fly across the face of a fish and got him to strike. It was great but the he took my fly as my tying skills were limited to trying to follow the Martin guide I received with the combo. It was Sad to see the end of my line with a curly twist indicating a bad knot. I then went down to warm river and was skunked as I tried to float a fly on the shallow river off the banks. I think a fish jumped at my fly but not sure, the water was fast. I was fascinated by a fisherman off in the distance consistently catching a fisher about every other cast.
Lately I have been trolling worms and rapalas at Gem Lake and Blacktail (ririe reservoir) with a 12ft boat and 6hp motor and have been having a good time with my catch rates being great with worms if we anchor up.