Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
WHERE IN NEW JERSEY CAN I CATCH TROUT?
I'm new to fresh water fishing and I live in union City N.J which is 5 minutes from New york. I want to take my son somewhere in New jersey where we can catch trout. Can anybody suggest a good hot spot? Also what do we use for bait? And last can we eat the trout? When I say eat I ask because some places are cleaner than others.

Thanks

[url "mailto:SOFTBALLMADNESS@YAHOO.COM"]SOFTBALLMADNESS@YAHOO.COM[/url]
[signature]
A good place is the Paulinskill river near newton or the rockaway river in Rockaway
nite crawlers are my bait of choice for trout but you can also try meal worms or berkley dough baits
[signature]
Hey-

Locations:

In Hudson County, you can go to West Hudson County Park Pond in Harrison at the West Hudson County Park. Take I-80 East to I-280 East exit onto Cleveland Avenue. At end of exit ramps, make a left onto Cleveland Ave. Make a left on N.4th St. Go one block and make a right onto Hamilton St. Follow to Schugler Ave and make a left. Park entrance past RR Tracks on left.

Or you could go to Woodcliff Lake in North Bergen at the James J. Braddock Park. Take Rt. 1 & 9 North, make a right on 79th St. Enter at 79th St. where it crosses Bergenline Ave. lake straight ahead after entering park.

Make sure to purchase a license with a "trout stamp" for yourself and for your son if he is older than 16.

There are other locations listed here: http://www.state.nj.us/dep/fgw/accesscnty.htm

Tackle:
Spinning reel and rod. 4 to 6 lb test is more than plenty. Use size 6 to 12 hooks.

Bait:
Nightcrawlers. Powerbait or Gulp trout dough. Spinners. Spoons.

When:
Saturday April 10th, opening day, can be a nightmare. It might be better to go with a kid a week or two later after a stocking day during the week: http://www.state.nj.us/dep/fgw/trt_alloc..._dates.htm
[signature]