Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Duck hunting question/PLEASE???
Ok so im new to this whole duck hunting thing. Ive been told you dont have to hide very good and ive been told you do?? So my question is how well do i have to hide while duck hunting?? I have the camo and things. Do i need to be way hiding like turkey hunting??? or can i stand out and let them come to my deeks?? THANKS again for anyone's help....
[signature]
Just like turkeys, ducks have great vision. I would not be out in the open thats for sure. The better you stay hidden the more ducks you will get to commit to your decoys. Come to think of it though i have never tried to hunt without being hidden well so maybe its not a factor.
[signature]
Ya ducks vision is pretty amazing. The better you're hid up the more ducks you will kill. Some places you'll find that it seems like you hide up so well and they still flare when they get over top of you...some places you're sure they'll see you and they don't. One of the biggest things is to keep you're face down and still....nothing flares duck like you turning you head to watch ducks...keep it low and watch with your eyes. Camo your face if you have to...some guys just can't resist watching the ducks., and always try to be in the shade. The sun will relect off your camo clothing and your skin much different than it's surroundings.
[signature]
GREAT TIPS!! thanks to the both of you very much!!!!!! I figured as much but then i was told nah dont worry about it and i was like hmm dont sound right.... THANKS AGAIN U 2!!!!
[signature]
I like everyone's comments here. I agree with them having great vision, and what was said about shade, and faces. I hadn't ever really thought about camo clothing reflecting light differently than natural vegetation, but that makes total sense.