Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Elk & Deer Hunt Permits
Ok, so I am completely new to hunting, tried to read the Big Game guidebook and my head is spinning. I want to hunt elk and possibly deer. It appears that the Bull Elk permits are part of the big game drawing? Can you get a permit the first year you try? Does it take a couple of years to draw the permit? How does it work?!?!? Also buck deer permits, how does that draw work?
[signature]
Rainbow-
Welcome to the hunting community. There are lots of folks here willing to answer any questions you may have. I don't hunt deer so I'm not much help there. You do have to draw for deer and depending on the unit you apply for, it can take years to get one. Some units are more popular than others, but again, other folks on the forum would be better equipped to inform you there. As for elk, I'm your man. Here in Utah, elk permits are sold on a first come, first served basis, unless you plan to hunt limited entry, CWMU, or some other 'specialty' hunt. Otherwise you just show up at your local sporting goods store on whatever day, I believe it's July 17th this year, and buy your permit. And for elk you don't pick a unit. You pick spike bull or any bull and then you can hunt any of the several units of each type. Archery and rifle hunts each have a few different rules but they're pretty straight-forward. I hope I didn't just confuse you more. It's probably about as clear as mud right now. But I've been there and I know the frustration so you just shoot me a PM anytime. I don't check this forum all that often but if you send a private message I'll see it. Best of luck!
[signature]
Ok I will try and explain it as well as I can.