Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lake trout fishing
Okay all. This is the year that I have tried alot of different fishing in Utah. I have been after wiper, walley, perch, bass and the old tiger. I would like to start tracking after lake trout/mac. Wondering when are the best times for those guys and what are the best techinques and areas you all have fished for them. I know that they are deep and I have read that jigging is one of the best ways to get them. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
[signature]
Where's BLM when you need him?

I'm no expert by any stretch. I jig for them on the gorge. From what I've seen, jigging is a good way to catch numbers of small lakers, and the occassional big fish. Trolling produces larger fish pretty consistantly up there.

I use 4-6 inch tubes with 1/2-2oz. weights depending on the conditions. Increase your weight as much as needed to keep it as vertical as possible. I add a peice of sucker meat, but have been told that the bigger fish come without the meat. I have been trying to make and use the 10-12 inch bunny hair jigs that doug Miller keeps showing without any success as of yet.

1/2-1oz. castmasters and spoons work quite well also. I have some 1oz. bucktail Castmasters from Sportsmans. Some days that will just outshine everything else in the boat. Other days I can't buy a bite on it.

On a darker, overcast day, I have found that stuffing one of the small lightsticks inside of the jig with the weight can increase the number of strikes.