Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newbie rod question?
Ok I'm pretty much a new fisherman and I wanted to know what is a good and decient medium/fast action fishing pole? I'm looking to buy one because I already have a soft action daiwa rod which is great for small fish but I need a stronger one for pulling in those 20+ inches fish. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
[signature]
When it comes down to it, its all about how much you are willing to spend. I personally am not one to drop 250 or 300 on a casting or spinning rod (now fly rods might be a different story [Wink]). I just ordered a St. Croix Bass Mojo, moderate tip, and I'm excited to get it. It is the slower tip rod but I have been using their rods for many years and really like them I would imagine their fast tips are just as nice as any of their other rods. You can pick one of these bad boys up for around 100 bucks. Good luck
[signature]
I faver Shimanos due to the no hassle return policy when I break one. Yep the more you spend the better you'll get.
[signature]
A great rod that is easy on the wallet is a Ugly Stik. They are very stong with sensitive tips...hope thats helpful - Caronsj11
[signature]
I have two ugly sticks , both are spinning rods, I love them both. One is a light action and the other is a medium. I even troll with the Medium one and it performs extremely well. For trout fishing there the best in my opinion. I have used them for bass with good success as well though. Like carons said[#000000] they are really easy on the wallet and an all around great rod.[url "../../../cgi-bin/community/community.cgi?do=user_page;pg=user_profile_view.html;username=caronsj11"]
[/url][/#000000]
[signature]