Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to Idaho
Allright fellas... I'm in Utah right now, but recently was offered a job in Twin Falls. I'll be training in Meridian from July til about December, and then I'll be in Twin for the duration. I plan on fishing my brains out on the weekends when I have to stay in Idaho and not go home to see the fam.

A little background on my fishing... I split my time pretty evenly between fly fishing for trout, and throwing gear at bass. I tie all my own flies, and pour my own jigs etc.

Where should I be spending my time? Both in Boise area and Twin?

I have fished Brownlee and Oxbow quite a bit, and quite frankly, I won't miss Utah smallmouth! Other than that, I'm an Idaho noob..

Thanks,

Cheech
[signature]
Great looking cased caddis in your avatar, did you tie that?

I am mainly a flyfisherman as well, and in Meridian. Truly your possibilities are endless. Since it looks like a low water year the fishing could be epic this summer. Obviously the Boise river system will be your quickest and easiest route. There is the Owyhee over in Oregon for browns. Then you've got all the watersheds in the mountains north of Boise from high mountain lake fishing to stream/river fishing. Not sure if you have a boat, but the few places you mentioned in addition to CJ strike, Lucky Peak are all pretty close. IMO, your moving to one of the premier fishing areas in north america. You won't even crack the surface of your possibilities this summer during your training, but you'll get into a lot of good fishing. I am sure there are plenty of people on here that would be willing to show you a spot or two including myself. Stay in touch on here and we could possibly go wet some lines sometime.
[signature]
Rivers I'veBoise river in town South fork boise,big wood, silvercreek. Reseviors Anderson ranch Salmon falls magic, carey, Wallcott is good bass fishery,Lots around. Some of the boys from that area will help guide you the right direction.
[signature]