Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
properly inflated fat cat lcs
My last trip on the water in my newly pimped (thanks TubeDude) fat cat was a fun and successful crappie adventure. I realized that once I had my tube in the water for about 10 minutes, it felt like it could use more air. I checked for leaks and such but didn't hear anything to indicate a leak or see any "magic" bubbles. Since I'm a newbie at this, I figured I hadn't aired it up properly in the first place. I continued to fish for a few more hours and nothing changed so I figure it is still leak free. The downside was that my transducer was up and at a funky angle (still need to warm up that PVC and put a bend in it) more so than usual because of how I had inflated the dang thing.

The manual states that you should air it up to approximately 1.8 psi. Is there a good way to gauge that you have put enough air in your tube? I was worried that too much might cause a catastrophic failure. How do you know when "enough is enough"?
[signature]
[quote wagdog]My last trip on the water in my newly pimped (thanks TubeDude) fat cat was a fun and successful crappie adventure. I realized that once I had my tube in the water for about 10 minutes, it felt like it could use more air. I checked for leaks and such but didn't hear anything to indicate a leak or see any "magic" bubbles. Since I'm a newbie at this, I figured I hadn't aired it up properly in the first place. I continued to fish for a few more hours and nothing changed so I figure it is still leak free. The downside was that my transducer was up and at a funky angle (still need to warm up that PVC and put a bend in it) more so than usual because of how I had inflated the dang thing.

The manual states that you should air it up to approximately 1.8 psi. Is there a good way to gauge that you have put enough air in your tube? I was worried that too much might cause a catastrophic failure. How do you know when "enough is enough"?[/quote]
[signature]