Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A little advice
Hi. I am new to fly fishing and I have a question on rods and reels.

I want to know about how much I should spend on a decent starter rod and reel combo to use while I am learning and then upgrade next year or so. Also, any suggestions on length of the rod or any other suggestions? Any advice is appreciated.

-Thanks
[signature]
What will you be fishing for. That will help on answering what length and weight.

I suggest to get a Good rod as it does make it easier. Not top of the line, but not a Wally world special either.
TFO, St Croix and others out there.
Reel is not a big issue. Get one with a fare drag. These can be had for $15. to $35.
Next would be a good line.

FG
[signature]
For the rod, I would check out the Essence FW from ross, or even the essence FC. they are great rods for the price. I would recommend a 4 or 5 weight rod depending on the type of fishing you plan to do with it. A 5wt rod in a 8'6" or a 9' will do almost anything you want to do in Utah lakes or streams, but I almost always prefer a 4wt in the majority of the local rivers.

The reel isn't as big of a deal as other items you need, so I would just pick up something that will hold your line that has a "decent" drag. No need to spend a bunch of money on a reel.

And finally the line. I know i'm not the only one here who will tell you to get a GOOD line. There are a bunch of lines to consider, and every one of them will accent the rod you choose a bit differently. I have had great luck with Rio lines. Depending on the action of the rod you choose i'd go with rio gold for medium-fast action rods, and the rio grand for fast action rods.
[signature]
FG, you should have a copy/paste response for this one by now. You must have typed pages and pages in response to threads like these. haha
Yea, but I shake t up a bit....LOL