Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Drownin' Dogs on the Middle Provo
I was coerced into camping on my in-law's property that contains a camp site about 30 yards from the Middle Provo (Heber area). I am no camper but I was promised I could fis as much as I want...and I did.

I am a rookie when it comes to fishing rivers. I usually catch a few but nothing like when I'm harassing Utah Lake. Plus, I'm in waders without my float tube...weird feeling.

I headed out in the late afternoon with my pit bull to see if I could scare a few trout out of the river. I had been fishing for about 10 minutes when my nieces and nephews came down to see what I was doing. All of the sudden I heard one of the kids say, "Oh no!" I turned around to see my pit bull going under and down river. Unfortunately she had followed me out into the river deeper than usual and I wasn't paying attention.

Lucky for me (and her) she made it to a big rock in the middle of the river and climbed on top. Unluckily for me, the rock was in the deepest and fastest part of the river. I made it to her with the water within inches of filling my waders and yes, I wasn't wearing a wading belt. Didn't think I would get into deep water. Dumb wagdog. Dumb!

I got a good foothold and drug my 50 pound puppy through the current to the shallows. She was very wet, had a head full of water, but glad to be alive. I was pretty dang wet and was convinced I was going to hate camping even more. My wife was kind enough to occupy my dog back at camp while I snuck back down to the river.

When I got there, I remembered sitting in a joint called the Tackletorium and some DUDE stating that he used to use roadrunners to catch browns. I didn't have any roadrunners but I did have some small spinners that should be flashy enough for the browns.