Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
toon trailer finally
Picked up my toon trailer yesterday. I got a 4' x 8' haul master from Harbor Freight. The one I got is normally 299. It is on sale this month for 269, and with the 20% coupon that you can find in the sunday paper each week it came out to 215.[cool] Now to take it out of the two boxes it came in and start putting it together. I plan on adding my tule rack to it then building a rack over that one to haul two toons. Also adding a gear box (home depot has a foot locker type rubbermaid box) and then need to find a way to hold oars and other needed items.[cool] Will post pics as I work on this project. Should have it completed by end of March if all goes well. Other wintertime project....pimp out second toon.[Wink]
[signature]
My first suggestion is to go with the 12" tires and don't forget a spare.
Oh, and hopefully you won't end up with allot of spare pieces[crazy][laugh][laugh][laugh]
[signature]
I will definately be getting a spare for it. The spare and the bracket for the spare come separate. About $13 for the bracket and around $50 for the spare. Will get those as the trailer gets assembled.[Smile] My son will enjoy helping to build it. He loves building things especially if it deals with tools.
[signature]
It is fun, but there is a ton of bolts and nuts! Is the receiver the right size? You might need to adjust that too. Ours on the first trip out, bounced off the ball and ruined our spare dragging on the freeway till we could stop.

Just passing on hard learned lessons...[cool]
[signature]
I have a 2" receiver hitch with both 2" ad 1 7/8" Balls.
[signature]
pics!!! right now we are looking at the one Cablas sells for 800 bucks that can load up to a 12 foot boat with bunks and the whole shabang. if your looks nice enough we might go the same direction you did and save a few hundred bucks.
[signature]
This is what I got. They have a couple of models with either 8" or 12" tires. They come in 4' x 8'.