Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Books on entomology?
I'm new to both fly fishing and fly tying. It seems like knowing bugs would probably go a long way towards making me better at both. Are there any books anyone can suggest on the insects around the Idaho (regional) area? Any with a nod to fly fishing would be a bonus, but I just want to increase my knowledge.

Thanks for any help.
[signature]
I bought the "Hatch Guide For Western Streams"
http://www.amazon.com/Hatch-Guide-Wester...1571881069

Great paper back small enough to fit in a vest pocket or back pocket. It shows the insect in all stages of life plus the fly to associate with it. As you can see in the ad from Amazon, there is also one for Stillwater too.
[signature]
I use to have a pocket guide.. laminated pages.. spiral bound I think... Ill have to look for it and then post if I can find it...

also there used to be a guy who had a site that outlined almost everything bugs.. including pictures... just cant remember his name or the site...

MacFly
[signature]
Awesome. Thanks, I really appreciate the suggestions.

This fly fishing thing has really hit me hard. Fly tying too. Good to have sources for a lot of this information. I'm great full for everything I'm learning here.
[signature]
The book I mentioned also tells you what the fly is made of too. Or I should say, How to make the fly.
[signature]
I tried to see if I could download either one of those as an ebook.. but alas.. neither one is there yet..

thats awesome on the how to tie part...

Ill definately have to look for my little ref guide ...

MacFly [cool]
[signature]
The books on hatches is your best bet. Until you get it though, look up hatch charts for your area.

I like the one at West Fly. Do a search for hatch charts West Fly and you should get their hatch chart customizer. (I would give the link, but they have a forum, so I can't.)