Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trolling question
I am pretty new to trolling and will be trolling for trout and kokanee using leaded line. I was wondering if there is some rule of thumb on depth of lure with the amount of colors of line you let out. I know speed adds alot of variable but we can assume a normal troll speed of 1.2 and 2 mph. Any input will be appreciated.
[signature]
There is a lot to know about Kokanee fishing to be consistently successful throughout the summer. Most of Kokanee fishing surrounds the species comfort level in the water column. Kokanee like to be within a few feet of 56.5 degrees water temperature. This comfort zone is one of the largest factors at the size of each crop of 3 year old Kokanee. The longer the fish can stay up high enough in the water to feed on their mainstay, plankton, the larger the fish. Having a long cool springtime after ice out with the water temps staying colder will create larger fish. Since plankton are mainly found high enough in the water column for major sunlight penetration, the top 20 feet, this will be the biggest determining factor.

The next factor will be what fish see. A salmon's eye sight in the water column is very similar to a human beings. Certain colors only penetrate so far down before those colors visually turn gray. A general rule of thumb is to fish pinks, reds, and oranges down to about 24'. 24 to 40' most fishermen will be fishing green and chartreuse. Beyond that the light penetration moves to blues and purples. Glow type lures are also popular below 40' as well as on dark days.

Contrast to the water column can also prove to be successful. What dodgers and lures stand out against the background is very helpful. Bright colored lures on sunny days and darker lures on cloudy days can produce well.