Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Anchovies - Lake Powell
Heading down to Powell for a week next week and want to buy a pretty good supply of anchovies. Do any of you have any recommendations on where to buy them here in the SL Valley? Or is is it better/cheaper to find them down by Page? We'll be launching from Antelope.

I've never used them before so if you have any advice in that arena as well, I'd appreciate it.

Gaetz
[signature]
Don't know where to get 'em. Someone else will have to chime in.

Keep them frozen as long as possible. Only take a couple out of the bag/cooler at a time. They stay on the hook better when frozen. After they thaw out hook the head and tail pieces. Chum with the middle pieces with the guts in 'em.
[signature]
You can buy them in Salt Lake at Sportsmans Warehouse for example, but it's cheaper and far easier to get them in Page at the Walmart than to try and keep them frozen all the way down. If Walmart doesn't have them in yet, which they almost always do, you can find them at Stix for a price similar to Sportsmans. Keeping them more on the frozen side of things makes them much easier to manage.
[signature]
There's a tackle store at the Antelope Ponit marina that sells a bag of 20 anchovies for $3. That's probably the easiest bet.
[signature]
Hanksville was almost out of anchovies, hole in the rock completely out, chevron was into thier last box....Sunday monday of this week
[signature]
Thanks to all who've replied. I'll probably try to get them here in SLC rather than chance getting down there and not finding anything.

Regards,

TRH
[signature]
I've got a real love/hate of anchovies. They are excellent for Powell, but they are very hard to keep rock solid frozen. And if not so, you've got a mess.

I've packed them between lots of ice, but they want to thaw and just packing them in ice doesn't keep them solid very long. Haven't tried dry ice, but that might be what it takes to keep them in condition to use as bait.