Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Strawberry Narrows
I need some help...

I need to take my scouts to camp next week and all my plans are being foiled... We are planning to canoe into somewhere, relatively short, and setting up a primitive camp. My first 3 ideas have not worked out for various reasons...(Mostly snow.)

I've now been pointed toward canoeing into the narrows at Strawberry. I'm no strawberry expert, so I don't want to do that till I have more information. I was advised to put in at Indian Creek and canoe into the narrows along the South side of the narrows and set up camp in there. What do you guys think?

How far of a canoe trip are we talking? I've got 12-13 year olds that are relatively inexperienced in canoes, so I don't want to kill them, but I do want to push them a bit...

Can I drive right to Indian Creek? Is 4WD required? Where is Indian Creek exactly (the map I have doesn't show it....)

Once there, what should we be fishing in that area to have the most success for inexperienced fishermen?

You guys are great, and I EAGERLY await your wisdom, insight and experience!
[signature]
You need a swim check before you go out with a certified leader from I understand for scouts.

Anyway, I wouldn't suggest a canoe on Strawberry. Its kindof dangerous and I had been out there with whitecaps. How about Trial Lake, Pelican, Mirror lake, Red fleet?

Good luck and have a safe trip!
[signature]
I wouldn't be afraid of Strawberry as long as you're off the water before the wind picks up. But I would second the Pelican Lake or the near to there place called Brough. Both are closer to Vernal than Strawberry but they would be perfect for what you're looking for.

As for fishing with inexperienced fisher men the best is always a fly and a bubble. I would be happy to come and give a demo/seminar on just how to do it if you like.

If not a fly and bubble then use a bubble half filled with water and hang a worm and marshmallow.
[signature]