Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
HELP - New gear for stream/pond fishing
So I am an aspiring angler here in upstate New York. I have been doing a lot of fishing in the streams and creeks out here but this is really the first year I have taken it seriously. I am hoping to buy some new gear as my rod/real is garbage.

My budget is $300 max. I fish mostly Trout, panfish, and I would like to hit up the salmon run this fall. I fish in the rivers, streams and secluded ponds in the adirondack mountains here.

I have been looking around and I am considering buying a Shimano Saros F series reel, the 3000 size, as I have yet to read a bad review for it. I am, however, pretty overwhelmed with the Rod choices. I will mostly be fishing with small trout lures, spinners and such.

I am hoping someone here might be able to assist me by telling me what rod would work well for this in the $100 - $150 price range. Or if I am barking up the wrong tree with the Shimano Saros Reel.

I am new to the forum so I would really appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks in advance!

Dave
[signature]
I own both the symetri and stratics for reels and can't be happeir. So the saros should work very well. For trout and salmon you kind of need two different rods, but I'd probably get a 7' med action rod. Should have a fast tip for trout and a med to heavy for salmom, so the pick is yours on which fish you want to go after more often. Brands, Shimano has a life time full warrenty but some of the other rods the folks here like will work as well.
[signature]