Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Laundry Basket Apron
[cool][#0000ff]Over the past decade or so I have fashioned rigid tube aprons (sushi boards) from all kinds of things. Plastic container lids...and bottoms...TV trays, plastic dish trays, etc. Anything of approximately the right shape and rigidity has been fair game for apronology.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]For a couple of years I have been lusting after the large white plastic laundry basket TubeBabe uses. Just the right size and shape. Came close to "appropriating" hers a couple of times...and to buying one for myself several times.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]Don't let this get out but I sometimes hang out in Beds Bath and Beyond. After all, I am a chef and I appreciate kitchen gadgetry. A month or so ago I wandered back into another "zone" in the store and BINGO...there was a laundry basket that just had to have been designed as a float tube apron. It even had an indented "body contour" to make it easier to haul clothes around. At least that is what the label says. I recognized right away that it was designed to fit more comfortably around my ample midsection on my tube.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]So...I said goodbye to a $10 bill, brung that puppy home and hit it with the little buzz saw. Cut the bottom part out...leaving a raised edge all around. Then drilled some holes around the edge to let water drain out. After that I rigged up my current system of bungee cord to fasten it to my tube, added a new BassPro plastic ruler and took it for a test ride.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]It performed very well. Exactly the right size and shape. Now I gotta use it a whole buncha times and see how well it holds up long term. I'm willing to do the research.[/#0000ff]
[signature]
Looking good. Gonna try it tomorrow?
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]Codgertatin' on Willard...north marina.[/#0000ff]
[signature]
Hummmmm.
[signature]