Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tibble Fork again
Went to Tibble Fork again this morning with my dad and brother. My brother wanted me to teach him how to fly fish even though I am still a rookie, so I thought it was going to be pretty difficult. Went to the same spot and there was a lot of rising fish just like before but I didn't have any small dries, only a #12 parachute adams. after throwing that at them for a good 45 minutes to an hour. I saw them look at it and then just not interested at all, so I decided to use a #20 WD-40 and try to put floatant on it to see if it would float. To be honest I couldn't really see it but I felt a fish on, so I found out that obviously the fly was sinking and the fish were eating them. After catching 3, I gave one to my brother to tie on and he also got a fish. It felt really cool watching him catch a fish when I taught him, even though I myself have a lot to learn. I ended up with 4 fish again, 3 lost again, and to be honest, couldn't tell if I missed any. I also got to use my new 2wt which was a blast! Had a great Easter morning on Tibble Fork!
[signature]
Good on ya for getting out on the river! Little advice from a noob to another noob. If you were to take a section of river and divide the water column into 3 equal parts.

Top - 10% fish count
Middle - 20% fish count
Bottom - 70% fish count

The majority of the fish you catch will be on the bottom. . It takes a fish almost double the calories to swim to the surface, eat a fly, then go back to the bottom. Obviously, fish aren't going to be doing this unless it's during a hatch. Always gotta be matching the hatch. If you're not seeing anything on the surface and fish rising, you're going to be better off fishing nymphs or streamers off the bottom. Again, you want to match the hatch at the bottom as well.
[signature]