Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Should I?
Hey guys, I've been watching this forum for a while, haven't posted much, so I'm kind of new I guess. Just have a question for you boat experts:

My friend has an old Chrysler brand tri-hull, open bow boat and trailer(He found it abandoned on one of his construction sites, not sure what year it is). It has been completely stripped of all guages, wiring and mechanical parts. So basically, it's just a shell. The vinyl upholstery is in new condition, the carpet looks good, the windshield glass is good, and the hull is in good shape as well. I am contemplating buying it and fixing it up as a fishing boat, maybe even a ski boat. I would need a motor(around 60-100hp), guages, steering wheel, wiring, fuel tank, battery, etc. I'm new to boats so I'm sure I've left out quite a few things that I would need. So, my question is, should I by this boat? My friend only wants $100 for it and the trailer. I'm not sure if I could put this boat together cheaper than just buying a used boat that is already running.

So, all you wise fishing experts, what do you think? Spend $1200-$1500 on a used boat that runs or $100 + parts on my friend's boat?
[signature]
I would buy a used boat that you know runs but each to their own. That sounds like alot of time and effort for the amount of return even if you were very familiar with boats. Now if you just happened to have a nice outboard and such that might be different.
[signature]
[font "Comic Sans MS"][size 3]The trailer is worth that if it's not hammered. Run a check with the DMV on the hull number to verify it's not hot and stripped. Offer him a case of beer. He got it for free and he's your friend. He obviously doesn't want it.[/size][/font]

[font "Comic Sans MS"][size 3]Depending on the motor but you can plan on putting $1000 to $2000 back into it with tons of your time to boot. I wouldn't do it for a tri-hull but that's up to you. Good luck whatever you decide.[/size][/font]
[signature]