Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Warm River
So I went and fished up near the spring this past weekend and had no success. So on my way home I decided to just stop in the campgrounds and fish a bit and caught a couple. So I went back the next day and caught about 10 fish in an hour. 1 Brown, a few rainbows, and mostly white. All of these were caught nymphing.

So last night I went back a third time because I was having good success and since I'm new to fly fishing, I just enjoy catching fish. The fish started to really rise and so I fished drys for my first time because last year I only nymphed because of the high water. I also just started tying flies and put on a fly I had tied the day before, a kind of adams/BWO cross, and I caught a 16 inch rainbow. I didn't know they were that big at the campground. It was really neat to see a fish that size rise and hit a fly I had tied myself. Just thought I'd share the experience.
[signature]
That is really cool. There is nothing like the rush of your first fish on a dry you tied. Way to go!
[signature]
Congrats! The campground area is a great spot to catch a lot of fish. Warm river has some occasional big fish if you know where to find them.
[signature]
Awesome report! I love reading about people getting out there and trying new things and finding success! Nothing is cooler than doing it on your own like that! ChrisTheFish has fished Warm River a fair amount lately as well and done great - a 16" rainbow is a great catch by anyone's standards!
[signature]
Thanks guys! How big of a trout have any of you caught or seen caught in the campgrounds? Also I've only seen brown, bow, and trout there. Are there any others there? As far as big fish if you know where to look, any suggestions?
[signature]
In the campgrounds my biggest is about 16". On warm river my biggest is 21". There are a lot of white fish around the campgrounds.

As far as finding the big ones...that's a secret I only share on the water!
[signature]