Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Float Tube Fly Fishing
I just got myself a float tube and would like to try fly fishing with it. Though I believe I will mostly do spincast fishing with it, I hear fly fishing on one can be challenging but most rewarding.

So to cut to the chase, how do you fly fish on a tube? Do you mostly throw dry flies? I suspect that "trolling" with streamers could be very productive. Can nymphs work? I plan on using it exclusively on lakes.

Sorry for the stupid question. I'm new to both fly fishing and float tubing so bear with me here.

Thanks!
[signature]
Any thing you fish with from shore, you can use on a lake. If there is a hatch and fish are rising, then by all means. Nymphing, Streamers, and Chironomids. You don't have to cast a country mile, just lob it out and kick.

Try sitting on the ground and casting, that is a good practice. Pontoon, try casting from a chair.
We laughed once as you can tell ff that do a lot of stillwater, they cast with their arms high[laugh]
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]Float tubes were originally developed for fly fishing...to allow anglers to get out to those fish that were rising out of range of shore fishermen and waders. Always happens.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]A float tube will not make you a better fisherman or a better fly fisherman but it will help you get closer to the fish for easier presentations. No need to make long double haul casts if you can quietly sneak up within easy casting range.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]And it is definitely not all about dry flies. Most fish feed mostly below the surface. So you will need to acquire sinking lines and the knowledge of how to present sinking fly patterns with them.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]