Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to Idaho and Bigfishtackle
Hi everyone,
I figured I would introduce myself. Im originally from the suburbs of Chicago (miserable) and am about to graduate from the University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point with a major in Fisheries Management. I took a temperary technician job in Idaho this summer/fall before appling for graduate school. I will be leaving late next week and spending a week or two in the henry's lake, henry's fork, teton area before reporting to Salmon, ID from mid June till mid July. After that I will be based out of Mccall, ID from mid July till mid October. I will be bringing a 14ft boat with 25hp motor and I am on a eight days on six days off schedule. I have done plenty of trout fishing in Wisconsin but I am new to fly fishing and looking foward to learning. (I am really into aquatic invertabrate indentification from a class I had to take). I am completely open to comments and suggestions for fishing anywhere for anything. I am obviously excited for trout fishing, but being a midwestoner I definately will need to get my smallmouth, walleye (salmon falls creek resevior), musky (tiger musky) fix. If anyone wants to pm me or join me fishing on my days off, by all means I am interested, I will keep everyone update, hope to meet a few of you!
[signature]
Welcome! You will be a good addition to our discussions and reports.

You will be arriving at an interesting time for fishing up in that area. Henrys opens a little before memorial day and it is a zoo for awhile. Hebgen might be a good alternative if it is too crowded.

Some rivers may be high and some tributaries might be closed. You will have to check the regulations pretty carefully.

Not trying to throw a wet towel. There are LOTS of good places to fish up there, just be flexible!
[signature]