Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Petes Hole, Soup Bowl, Grassy Lakes
It was tough deciding where to go with my four day U.E.A. weekend. (I'm a teacher). I decided to take my family camping and fishing since the weather has been unseasonably warm. We decided to camp at Pete's hole. I am new to the area and was very impressed with the area. At Pete's Hole I did best with a pink scud. The lake was well stocked and the fish were hungry. The kids were catching plenty of fish with just a worm and bobber. Between Thursday night and Saturday morning we probably caught 60-80 fish at Pete's Hole. All of them were caught and released if any of you have kids or grandkids who need to catch some fish I would defineately recommend Pete's Hole. The soup bowl was also well stocked. The extra 200ft of four wheel drive road must keep people from going down there. The bite was constant with just about any bait. I also took my pontoon over to Grassy Lake. I am not sure that is what it is called since the sign had been ripped off. The fish were much healthier there. They were fat and fought harder then any 12-14" rainbows I have ever felt. I had one on that was much bigger then that but of course it got awaySmile I only fished at Grassy Lake for about three hours but I landed 16 fish using a crystal killer leech (brown and green sparkle). I just found the weed pockets and stripped the leech along the edges. The trout ambushed the leech as it went by them. Over all I had one of the best weekends that I have ever had. I have been debating whether to start hunting again or not. I think I have decided that it is fun to be up in the mountains with the lakes to myself. Hope everyone else can get up and enjoy the hot fall fishing.

Windriver
[signature]