Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Jordan river fishing
Hey guys, I've been lurking for about a week reading this forum and dang there's a ton of good info here. I'm new to Utah, I've only been here maybe a month but it dident take me long to go fishing. Third day in Utah I was at Walmart buying a license and powerbait Big Grin.

So here's my question. Can anyone recomend a good area around Jordan river to fish for catfish? I've heard good things about thanksgiving point and further south towards saratoga springs. I'm up in kearns so I was hoping for somewhere a little closer downriver.

Thanks ahead of time.
[signature]
Anywhere along the river will work. Find a place that has a bit of a slower current, maybe around a bend or something, and a place for you to sit comfortably in a chair -- you're set. Worms will work, but if you can get some white bass meat, that seems to work best for me. Bigger baits/hooks will keep the dink mud cats off the line better.
[signature]
Greetings Roy and welcome to Utah. I fish the Jordan river a few times a week and have always done well anywhere i fish. Like Trout Bum said worms work great for the smaller mud cats and now and then you may get a nice size cat but white bass works like magic.
I tend to use smaller white bass whole with just a few cuts in their sides with a large hook under the spine. Using that I have pulled in several cats over 15 pounds. I have seen other anglers using white bass chunks with some great success as well.

Good luck out there and catch a big cat.

Joshua
[signature]
Thanks for the replys. I'm gonna try finding some calm waters with hopefully some trees on the banks or just foliage where some fish kitties might hide and see if I land any. I notice the river is wider the close to Utah lake. Does the width of the river matter much?
[signature]
Do you mean in terms of water speed or fish population?
[signature]